eFront vs Allvue: API, MCP and investor access compared
Both are investor portals that sit on top of a private markets back-office suite, used by private equity, private credit and fund-of-funds managers. This page sets the two registry entries side by side: how investors log in, whether an API or MCP server exists and for whom, what files can be exported, and what the terms say about automation.
Side by side
| Field | ||
|---|---|---|
| Vendor | BlackRock eFrontCountry: US Vendor site | Allvue SystemsCountry: US Vendor site |
| Category | LP portal | LP portal |
| Regions | Global, Europe, North America | North America, Global |
| Asset classes | Private equity, Private credit, Real estate, Infrastructure, Fund of funds | Private equity, Private credit, Venture capital, Fund of funds |
| Web and SSO | AvailableSSO: not recorded | AvailableSSO: not recorded |
| API | Partner onlyAudience: GP and fund administrator Docs: not public | Partner onlyAudience: GP and fund administrator Docs: not public |
| Investor-side API | UnknownFrom the registry assessment | UnknownFrom the registry assessment |
| MCP | Unknown | Unknown |
| SFTP | Unknown | Unknown |
| Webhooks | Unknown | Unknown |
| Email notifications | Available | Unknown |
| Export formats | PDF, XLSX | None listed |
| Capabilities | Documents, Capital calls, Distributions, Capital account statements, Fund reports, Subscriptions, Performance | Documents, Capital calls, Distributions, Capital account statements, Tax documents, Fund reports, Subscriptions |
| Standards | None listed | None listed |
| Difficulty | 4 / 5Web login only, exports possible | 4 / 5Web login only, exports possible |
| Automation policy and terms | UnknownTerms URL not recorded | UnknownTerms URL not recorded |
| Known deployments | 4Lakestar; Funds administered by Apex Group; Funds administered by Ocorian | 1Funds administered by Standish Management |
| Verification | UnverifiedUpdated 2026-11-07 | UnverifiedUpdated 2026-11-07 |
"Not documented" and "Unknown" mean the researchers found no public statement either way, not that the feature is missing.
Key differences
- Email notifications. eFront: available. Allvue: not documented.
- Capabilities. Listed for eFront only: Performance; listed for Allvue only: Tax documents.
- Export formats. EFront lists: PDF and XLSX; none recorded for Allvue.
- Regions. Listed for eFront only: Europe.
- Asset classes. Listed for eFront only: Real estate and Infrastructure; listed for Allvue only: Venture capital.
- Known deployments. The registry links 4 known deployments to eFront and 1 to Allvue. This counts what the community has documented, not market share.
What the entries have in common
- API: both are recorded as partner only (for GP and fund administrator users).
- Neither entry documents an MCP server, SFTP or webhooks.
- Investor-side API: unknown for both, according to the assessment.
- Difficulty: both are rated 4 of 5 (web login only, exports possible).
- Automation policy: unknown for both.
Which fits which need
Neither product is right for every team. The statements below are conditional and come straight from the registry fields above.
For investors and LP operations teams
- If your investors or your operations team need documents and data through an API, the registry records the API as partner only (aimed at GP and fund administrator users) for both. Access for the investor itself is recorded as unknown for both.
- If you want to reach the data from an AI assistant, the MCP server is not documented for either.
- If you process capital call and distribution notices from your inbox, email notifications are available for eFront and not documented for Allvue.
- If you load files into your own systems, the registry lists PDF and XLSX for eFront and no export formats for Allvue.
- If you plan to automate your own login, automation in the terms is unknown for both. Where it is prohibited or unknown, ask the GP or the vendor for a sanctioned channel first.
For GPs, fund administrators and buyers
- If you need to connect the product to your back office, both entries record API partner only, webhooks not documented and SFTP not documented.
- If the product must carry the core LP reporting items (capital calls, distributions, capital account statements and tax documents), the structured capabilities cover capital calls, distributions and capital account statements for eFront and all four for Allvue.
- If your investors are concentrated in particular markets, the regions recorded are Global, Europe and North America for eFront and North America and Global for Allvue.
- If you manage a specific strategy, the asset classes recorded are private equity, private credit, real estate, infrastructure and fund of funds for eFront and private equity, private credit, venture capital and fund of funds for Allvue.
- If you want to see who already runs each product, the registry documents 4 known deployments for eFront and 1 for Allvue. The portal pages name the operators.
- If your investors will want programmatic access later, the difficulty rating is 4 of 5 for both, where 1 is a documented self-serve API an investor can use and 5 is web login only with MFA.
For a structured shortlist beyond these two products, see the guide how to choose an investor portal.
What the research says
eFront Investment Café
Assessment. Hosted web portal per GP or administrator. API is back-office integration for GPs. No public docs, no MCP.
Research notes. BlackRock-owned since 2019. Widely used by European GPs and administrators, including Aztec Group for its investor reporting portal. 56m+ documents shared with investors per vendor. No LP-side programmatic access identified. See registry/deployments.json for known deployments.
- Web: Hosted browser portal, deployed per GP or administrator, so investors meet many separate instances. SSO and MFA not stated.
- API: Press material cites API capabilities for sync with the eFront back office. No public docs. Also distributed by Apex Group.
Sources: www.efront.com/alternative-investment-software/efront-investment-cafe/ · www.apexgroup.com/technology-platforms/investor-portal/
Allvue Investor Portal
Assessment. Web portal only for LPs. APIs are GP-side and undocumented publicly.
Research notes. High confidence: portal delivers capital call and distribution notices, reports, capital account statements, K-1s. GP-side APIs exist but are undocumented publicly. No LP-side programmatic access identified.
- Web: Branded GP portal. SSO and MFA not stated.
- API: Nexius Data Platform described as API-first (real-time APIs, bulk extraction, Snowflake, flat files) for client teams. No public developer docs.
- MCP: Agentic AI platform page does not mention MCP.
Sources: allvuesystems.com/solutions/investor-portal · www.allvuesystems.com/solutions/nexius-data-platform/
Frequently asked questions
Does eFront or Allvue have an API investors can use?
eFront: API partner only (for GP and fund administrator users), investor-side access unknown. Allvue: API partner only (for GP and fund administrator users), investor-side access unknown. These are registry records from public sources, so confirm current terms with the vendor.
Do eFront and Allvue offer an MCP server?
eFront: not documented. Allvue: not documented. Vendor MCP servers often serve the vendor's direct customers first, such as GP teams, rather than every investor.
How hard is it to get data out of eFront and Allvue automatically?
The registry rates eFront 4 of 5 (web login only, exports possible) and Allvue 4 of 5 (web login only, exports possible). The scale runs from 1, a documented self-serve API an investor can use, to 5, web login only with MFA.
May I automate my login to eFront or Allvue?
eFront's position on automated access is not recorded; check the terms before automating. Allvue's position on automated access is not recorded; check the terms before automating.
Is this comparison affiliated with eFront or Allvue?
No. OpenInvestorPortal is independent community research built from an open registry. It is not affiliated with, sponsored by or reviewed by BlackRock eFront or Allvue Systems. Both entries were last updated on 2026-11-07, and corrections are welcome by pull request or email to hello@openinvestorportal.com.