DocSend vs Papermark: API, MCP and investor access compared
Both share documents and data rooms through tracked links with viewer analytics, and Papermark is an open source option in the same space. This page sets the two registry entries side by side: how investors log in, whether an API or MCP server exists and for whom, what files can be exported, and what the terms say about automation.
Side by side
| Field | ||
|---|---|---|
| Vendor | DropboxCountry: US Vendor site | PapermarkVendor site |
| Category | Data room | Data room |
| Regions | Global | Global, Europe |
| Asset classes | Not recorded | Private equity, Venture capital, Other |
| Web and SSO | AvailableSSO: not recorded | AvailableSSO: SAML |
| API | Unknown | AvailableStyle: REST Auth: API key and OAuth 2 authorization code Audience: GP API docs |
| Investor-side API | UnknownFrom the registry assessment | Not offeredFrom the registry assessment |
| MCP | BetaMaintainer: vendor Endpoint: https://docsend.com/mcpAuth: OAuth 2 MCP docs | AvailableMaintainer: vendor Endpoint: https://mcp.papermark.com/mcpTransport: Streamable HTTP and stdio Auth: OAuth 2 and API key MCP docs |
| SFTP | Unknown | Not offered |
| Webhooks | Unknown | Planned |
| Email notifications | AvailableDocs | Available |
| Export formats | Other | |
| Capabilities | Documents | Documents, Fund reports, Other |
| Standards | None listed | OpenAPI, OAuth 2, SAML SSO |
| Difficulty | 4 / 5Web login only, exports possible | 2 / 5Partner or client API with some friction |
| Automation policy and terms | UnknownTerms URL not recorded | UnknownTerms URL not recorded |
| Known deployments | 0 | 0 |
| Verification | UnverifiedUpdated 2026-11-07 | UnverifiedUpdated 2026-11-07 |
"Not documented" and "Unknown" mean the researchers found no public statement either way, not that the feature is missing.
Key differences
- API. DocSend: not documented. Papermark: available (REST, API key and OAuth 2 authorization code, for GP users, public docs).
- MCP server. DocSend: in beta (vendor-maintained, endpoint published, OAuth 2). Papermark: available (vendor-maintained, endpoint published, Streamable HTTP and stdio, OAuth 2 and API key).
- SFTP. DocSend: not documented. Papermark: not offered.
- Webhooks. DocSend: not documented. Papermark: planned.
- Investor-side API. The assessment records access for the investor as unknown for DocSend and not offered for Papermark.
- Difficulty. The registry rates DocSend 4 of 5 (web login only, exports possible) and Papermark 2 of 5 (partner or client API with some friction). The rating describes how hard programmatic access is for an investor, not product quality.
- Capabilities. Listed for Papermark only: Fund reports and Other.
- Export formats. Listed for DocSend only: Other; listed for Papermark only: PDF.
- Regions. Listed for Papermark only: Europe.
- Asset classes. Papermark lists: Private equity, Venture capital and Other; none recorded for DocSend.
- Standards. Papermark lists: OpenAPI, OAuth 2 and SAML SSO; none recorded for DocSend.
- Web SSO. Papermark lists: SAML; none recorded for DocSend.
What the entries have in common
- Email notifications: both are recorded as available.
- Automation policy: unknown for both.
- Known deployments: none documented for either yet.
Which fits which need
Neither product is right for every team. The statements below are conditional and come straight from the registry fields above.
For investors and LP operations teams
- If your investors or your operations team need documents and data through an API, the registry records the API as not documented for DocSend and available (aimed at GP users) for Papermark. Access for the investor itself is recorded as unknown for DocSend and not offered for Papermark.
- If you want to reach the data from an AI assistant, the MCP server is in beta for DocSend and available for Papermark. A vendor MCP server can still be limited to the vendor's direct customers, so read the research notes below for who may sign in.
- If you process capital call and distribution notices from your inbox, email notifications are available for both.
- If you load files into your own systems, the registry lists Other for DocSend and PDF for Papermark.
- If you plan to automate your own login, automation in the terms is unknown for both. Where it is prohibited or unknown, ask the GP or the vendor for a sanctioned channel first.
For GPs, fund administrators and buyers
- If you need to connect the product to your back office, DocSend records API not documented, webhooks not documented and SFTP not documented; Papermark records API available, webhooks planned and SFTP not offered.
- If the product must carry the core LP reporting items (capital calls, distributions, capital account statements and tax documents), the structured capabilities cover none of the four for either.
- If your investors are concentrated in particular markets, the regions recorded are Global for DocSend and Global and Europe for Papermark.
- If you manage a specific strategy, the asset classes recorded are none for DocSend and private equity, venture capital and other for Papermark.
- If you want to see who already runs each product, the registry has no documented deployments for either yet. Operators can add theirs to the registry.
- If your investors will want programmatic access later, the difficulty rating is 4 of 5 for DocSend and 2 of 5 for Papermark, where 1 is a documented self-serve API an investor can use and 5 is web login only with MFA.
For a structured shortlist beyond these two products, see the guide how to choose an investor portal.
What the research says
Dropbox DocSend Spaces (data rooms)
Assessment. The vendor remote MCP (beta) and the Zapier and Salesforce integrations serve DocSend account users. Visitors get email-verified links and Space update emails; no visitor API documented.
Research notes. High confidence: vendor remote MCP in beta for account users; Space update emails to visitors; owners can download a Space or folders as ZIP; visitors can export the Space index (Advanced Data Rooms). Unknown: public REST API, webhooks, visitor bulk-download rules, terms on automation.
- Web: SSO for DocSend account users is documented (help.dropbox.com/account-access/dropbox-docsend-single-sign-on-sso); protocol not confirmed. Viewers can be required to verify their email (email authentication). 2FA not found.
- API: No API article found in DocSend help; docsend.com returned 403. Zapier and Salesforce integrations exist.
- MCP: Vendor remote MCP server (Beta) for ChatGPT, Claude, Codex CLI and Copilot Studio; OAuth 2.0 with dynamic discovery. Read and write: list and manage Spaces, upload, read and summarise documents, contacts, visits, audit log, grant link access. Plans: Standard, Advanced, Advanced Data Rooms, Enterprise; admins toggle it under Settings > Company > AI use. For DocSend account users; viewer use not stated. Transport not stated.
- Email: Visitors on email-verified links get Space update emails (manual on Standard; automated new-content or new-version emails on Advanced and Advanced Data Rooms), with unsubscribe.
- Terms: Terms not reviewed (docsend.com returned 403).
Sources: help.dropbox.com/integrations/connect-docsend-mcp-server · help.dropbox.com/organize/dropbox-docsend-space-data-room-notifications · help.dropbox.com/view-edit/download-dropbox-docsend-content · help.dropbox.com/docsend
Papermark
Assessment. Owner side is the best in class: public REST API with OpenAPI, scoped tokens, CLI and a vendor MCP server from a EUR 59 plan. Not a 1 because nothing is offered to the invited LP, who still reaches documents through browser links.
Research notes. Open source data room (AGPLv3, github.com/mfts/papermark, about 9.3k stars) with a hosted SaaS and self-hosting on the Enterprise plan. Next.js, Postgres, S3. SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR, EU hosting per vendor. Used by GPs for fundraising data rooms and investor document sharing. The most programmable data room in the registry for the owner side: public REST API, OpenAPI spec, CLI and a vendor MCP server. Recipient-side programmatic access is not offered, so an LP still opens links in the browser. Because it is open source, it is a natural first implementation target for an OIPP endpoint. High confidence (vendor docs and GitHub, 2026-11-07).
- Web: Data rooms with NDA gating, dynamic watermarking, granular permissions, Q&A, page-level analytics and custom domains. SSO on Data Rooms Premium and Enterprise. Recipients open links in the browser, often with email verification.
- API: Public REST API with bearer tokens (pm_live_...), scoped tokens and an OAuth 2.1 device flow. Datarooms, documents, links, visitors and analytics. Included from the Business plan (EUR 59 per month annual). Owner-side: no operations documented for a recipient.
- MCP: Vendor MCP server, hosted (OAuth 2.0 with dynamic client registration and PKCE) and as the npm package @papermark/mcp-server (token via PAPERMARK_TOKEN). About 65 tools across datarooms, documents, links, folders, branding, visitors, analytics. Version 0.1.0, alpha. Acts as the owner's user.
- Webhooks: Listed as planned in the API docs.
- Email: Owners are notified of views; recipients receive share links by email.
Sources: www.papermark.com/ · www.papermark.com/pricing · www.papermark.com/docs · www.papermark.com/docs/api · www.papermark.com/docs/mcp · github.com/mfts/papermark
Frequently asked questions
Does DocSend or Papermark have an API investors can use?
DocSend: API not documented, investor-side access unknown. Papermark: API available (REST, API key and OAuth 2 authorization code, for GP users, public docs), investor-side access not offered. These are registry records from public sources, so confirm current terms with the vendor.
Do DocSend and Papermark offer an MCP server?
DocSend: in beta (vendor-maintained, endpoint https://docsend.com/mcp, OAuth 2). Papermark: available (vendor-maintained, endpoint https://mcp.papermark.com/mcp, Streamable HTTP and stdio, OAuth 2 and API key). Vendor MCP servers often serve the vendor's direct customers first, such as GP teams, rather than every investor.
How hard is it to get data out of DocSend and Papermark automatically?
The registry rates DocSend 4 of 5 (web login only, exports possible) and Papermark 2 of 5 (partner or client API with some friction). The scale runs from 1, a documented self-serve API an investor can use, to 5, web login only with MFA.
May I automate my login to DocSend or Papermark?
DocSend's position on automated access is not recorded; check the terms before automating. Papermark's position on automated access is not recorded; check the terms before automating.
Is this comparison affiliated with DocSend or Papermark?
No. OpenInvestorPortal is independent community research built from an open registry. It is not affiliated with, sponsored by or reviewed by Dropbox or Papermark. Both entries were last updated on 2026-11-07, and corrections are welcome by pull request or email to hello@openinvestorportal.com.