DocSend vs Digify: API, MCP and investor access compared

Both are document sharing tools with link tracking and data rooms, used by founders and fund managers for investor materials. This page sets the two registry entries side by side: how investors log in, whether an API or MCP server exists and for whom, what files can be exported, and what the terms say about automation.

Category: Data roomUpdated 2026-11-07Independent, not affiliated with either vendor
Independent community research. This comparison is generated from the open OpenInvestorPortal registry (CC0). It is not affiliated with, sponsored by or reviewed by Dropbox or Digify. Neither entry is vendor verified yet, so treat it as a starting point and confirm details with the vendor. If something is wrong or out of date, correct the entry by pull request or email hello@openinvestorportal.com.

Side by side

Dropbox DocSend Spaces (data rooms) and Digify Data Room compared
FieldDropbox DocSend Spaces (data rooms)Digify Data Room
VendorDropboxCountry: US
Vendor site
DigifyVendor site
CategoryData roomData room
RegionsGlobalGlobal
Asset classesNot recordedNot recorded
Web and SSOAvailableSSO: not recordedAvailableSSO: not recorded
APIUnknownAvailableStyle: REST
Auth: basic auth
Audience: GP
API docs
Investor-side APIUnknownFrom the registry assessmentNot offeredFrom the registry assessment
MCPBetaMaintainer: vendor
Endpoint: https://docsend.com/mcp
Auth: OAuth 2
MCP docs
Unknown
SFTPUnknownUnknown
WebhooksUnknownAvailableDocs
Email notificationsAvailableDocs Unknown
Export formatsOtherNone listed
CapabilitiesDocumentsDocuments
StandardsNone listedNone listed
Difficulty4 / 5Web login only, exports possible4 / 5Web login only, exports possible
Automation policy and termsUnknownTerms URL not recordedUnknownTerms URL not recorded
Known deployments00
VerificationUnverifiedUpdated 2026-11-07UnverifiedUpdated 2026-11-07

"Not documented" and "Unknown" mean the researchers found no public statement either way, not that the feature is missing.

Key differences

  • API. DocSend: not documented. Digify: available (REST, basic auth, for GP users, public docs).
  • MCP server. DocSend: in beta (vendor-maintained, endpoint published, OAuth 2). Digify: not documented.
  • Webhooks. DocSend: not documented. Digify: available.
  • Email notifications. DocSend: available. Digify: not documented.
  • Investor-side API. The assessment records access for the investor as unknown for DocSend and not offered for Digify.
  • Export formats. DocSend lists: Other; none recorded for Digify.

What the entries have in common

  • Neither entry documents SFTP.
  • Difficulty: both are rated 4 of 5 (web login only, exports possible).
  • Capabilities: both list Documents.
  • Regions: both list Global.
  • Automation policy: unknown for both.
  • Known deployments: none documented for either yet.

Which fits which need

Neither product is right for every team. The statements below are conditional and come straight from the registry fields above.

For investors and LP operations teams

  • If your investors or your operations team need documents and data through an API, the registry records the API as not documented for DocSend and available (aimed at GP users) for Digify. Access for the investor itself is recorded as unknown for DocSend and not offered for Digify.
  • If you want to reach the data from an AI assistant, the MCP server is in beta for DocSend and not documented for Digify. A vendor MCP server can still be limited to the vendor's direct customers, so read the research notes below for who may sign in.
  • If you process capital call and distribution notices from your inbox, email notifications are available for DocSend and not documented for Digify.
  • If you load files into your own systems, the registry lists Other for DocSend and no export formats for Digify.
  • If you plan to automate your own login, automation in the terms is unknown for both. Where it is prohibited or unknown, ask the GP or the vendor for a sanctioned channel first.

For GPs, fund administrators and buyers

  • If you need to connect the product to your back office, DocSend records API not documented, webhooks not documented and SFTP not documented; Digify records API available, webhooks available and SFTP not documented.
  • If the product must carry the core LP reporting items (capital calls, distributions, capital account statements and tax documents), the structured capabilities cover none of the four for either.
  • If your investors are concentrated in particular markets, the regions recorded are Global for both.
  • If you want to see who already runs each product, the registry has no documented deployments for either yet. Operators can add theirs to the registry.
  • If your investors will want programmatic access later, the difficulty rating is 4 of 5 for both, where 1 is a documented self-serve API an investor can use and 5 is web login only with MFA.

For a structured shortlist beyond these two products, see the guide how to choose an investor portal.

What the research says

Dropbox DocSend Spaces (data rooms)

Assessment. The vendor remote MCP (beta) and the Zapier and Salesforce integrations serve DocSend account users. Visitors get email-verified links and Space update emails; no visitor API documented.

Research notes. High confidence: vendor remote MCP in beta for account users; Space update emails to visitors; owners can download a Space or folders as ZIP; visitors can export the Space index (Advanced Data Rooms). Unknown: public REST API, webhooks, visitor bulk-download rules, terms on automation.

  • Web: SSO for DocSend account users is documented (help.dropbox.com/account-access/dropbox-docsend-single-sign-on-sso); protocol not confirmed. Viewers can be required to verify their email (email authentication). 2FA not found.
  • API: No API article found in DocSend help; docsend.com returned 403. Zapier and Salesforce integrations exist.
  • MCP: Vendor remote MCP server (Beta) for ChatGPT, Claude, Codex CLI and Copilot Studio; OAuth 2.0 with dynamic discovery. Read and write: list and manage Spaces, upload, read and summarise documents, contacts, visits, audit log, grant link access. Plans: Standard, Advanced, Advanced Data Rooms, Enterprise; admins toggle it under Settings > Company > AI use. For DocSend account users; viewer use not stated. Transport not stated.
  • Email: Visitors on email-verified links get Space update emails (manual on Standard; automated new-content or new-version emails on Advanced and Advanced Data Rooms), with unsubscribe.
  • Terms: Terms not reviewed (docsend.com returned 403).

Sources: help.dropbox.com/integrations/connect-docsend-mcp-server · help.dropbox.com/organize/dropbox-docsend-space-data-room-notifications · help.dropbox.com/view-edit/download-dropbox-docsend-content · help.dropbox.com/docsend

Digify Data Room

Assessment. Documented sender-side REST API (basic-auth keys) and View, Print and Download webhooks; the API manages recipients rather than serving them. Recipients use DRM-protected links.

Research notes. High confidence: documented sender-side REST API with basic-auth keys, plus webhooks; Zapier connector (8,000+ apps). Unknown: plan gating, MCP, recipient bulk download (the product is DRM-focused, with watermarking and revocation), terms on automation.

  • Web: Homepage cites SSO; 2FA not mentioned. Recipients view via links that can require email verification or an NDA.
  • API: Keys created in the in-app Developer Portal (Key ID as username, Secret as password over HTTPS); keys inherit the creating user's permissions. Covers files, links, recipients, data rooms (rooms, folders, invitations, permissions) and analytics. Required plan not stated. Sandbox account on request. Sender side only; no recipient API described.
  • Webhooks: JSON POST with basic auth for View, Print and Download events, including recipient name and email depending on access type.
  • Terms: Legal page https://digify.com/legal.html not reviewed.

Sources: digify.com/data-room-api.html · help.digify.com/en/articles/761282-digify-api-overview · help.digify.com/en/articles/3556613-digify-webhook · digify.com/

Frequently asked questions

Does DocSend or Digify have an API investors can use?

DocSend: API not documented, investor-side access unknown. Digify: API available (REST, basic auth, for GP users, public docs), investor-side access not offered. These are registry records from public sources, so confirm current terms with the vendor.

Do DocSend and Digify offer an MCP server?

DocSend: in beta (vendor-maintained, endpoint https://docsend.com/mcp, OAuth 2). Digify: not documented. Vendor MCP servers often serve the vendor's direct customers first, such as GP teams, rather than every investor.

How hard is it to get data out of DocSend and Digify automatically?

The registry rates DocSend 4 of 5 (web login only, exports possible) and Digify 4 of 5 (web login only, exports possible). The scale runs from 1, a documented self-serve API an investor can use, to 5, web login only with MFA.

May I automate my login to DocSend or Digify?

DocSend's position on automated access is not recorded; check the terms before automating. Digify's position on automated access is not recorded; check the terms before automating.

Is this comparison affiliated with DocSend or Digify?

No. OpenInvestorPortal is independent community research built from an open registry. It is not affiliated with, sponsored by or reviewed by Dropbox or Digify. Both entries were last updated on 2026-11-07, and corrections are welcome by pull request or email to hello@openinvestorportal.com.